Network Security Training Pathway

  • Job Reference: Network Security Training Path
  • Date Posted: 21 September 2023
  • Recruiter: SaluteMyJob
  • Website:
  • Location: Nationwide
  • Salary: On Application
  • Sector: I.T. & Communications

Job Description


Please note, the pilot course for this pathway is currently in progress. If you would like to express interest in our next intake on the Cyber Jumpstart programme, please click 'apply' below and we will be in touch when we have further information for you. Dates are TBC. 


There is a huge market for network security professionals, from Network Analyst - right up to experts and managers in the field. There are thousands of network security jobs currently listed now - and with the right experience and qualifications you can pave the path towards a promising career.

The Fortinet Network Security Expert (NSE) program is designed to provide interested technical professionals with an independent validation of their network security skills and experience. The NSE program includes a wide range of self-paced and instructor-led courses, as well as practical, experiential exercises that demonstrate mastery of complex network security concepts.

Learning is delivered by Fortinet via IBM SkillsBuild.




Online learning

Pilot course start date: 11th July 2022

End date: Complete at your own pace

Applications close: 4th July 2022






Who is this course for?

A career in network security is constantly evolving and those with problem-solving skills and an analytical mindset and those with general security experience gained in the military will do well in this career path.

To attend this course we recommend you have completed Stage one of the Cyber Security Operations pathway, have the equivalent COMPTIA Security+ and Network+ certification OR have completed levels NSE 1,2 & 3.







What will you learn?


In order to qualify and gain commercial employment as a network security analyst, complete this stage which will train you to be able to configure, install, and manage the day-to-day configuration, monitoring, and operation of a FortiGate device to support specific corporate network security policies.




Once you have succeeded as a network security analyst, progress your career to become an network security manager with the NSE 5 & NSE 6 qualification. 

NSE 5 teaches you  to implement network security management and analytics using Fortinet security devices. The curriculum is recommended for those who require the expertise to centrally manage, analyse, and report on Fortinet security devices. This designation is recognized when you successfully pass a minimum of any two Fortinet NSE 5 certification exams.

NSE 6 provides you with comprehensive skills with fabric products beyond the firewall. This designation is recognized after you achieve at least four Fortinet Specialist certificates on Fortinet enhanced products, and is recommended for those who are involved in managing and supporting specific Fortinet security products.



Stage THREE: NSE 7


The final stage of our network security pathway will combine your past experience and knowledge with additional NSE 7 training to become a Network Security expert. NSE 7 identifies your advanced skills in deploying, administering, and troubleshooting Fortinet security solutions. This curriculum offers courses for network and security professionals who are involved in advanced administration and support of security infrastructures using Fortinet solutions. You must successfully pass at least one of the NSE 7 exams to obtain this certification.